CE Requirements/Licensing Information
Your MAIA Education Contact
Director of Events and Education
CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
All resident and non-resident agents and brokers are required to meet the continuing education requirements for Missouri, although non-residents are exempt if their state has a mandatory continuing education law. These biennial requirements for a resident producer are:
|Life &/or Health||16**||Life/Health &/or General orEthics Credit|
|Property &/or Casualty ||16||Property/Casualty &/or General or Ethics Credit|
|Life &/or Health and Property &/or Casualty||16||Any Combination|
*Such requirement shall include at least three hours of instruction in insurance ethics.
**Effective March 30, 2017 - Prior to soliciting sales of annuities, insurance producers must complete an approved one-time four credit hour annuities training course. Producers who hold a Life insurance licence on March 30 have until
September 30 to complete this requirement.
Agent section of DIFP Website
APPLYING FOR A LICENSE:
In order to qualify as a Missouri resident insurance agent, you must satisfy the following requirements:
Be at least 18 years of age.
Pass the appropriate license examination.
If applying by mail, submit a $100 application fee. Fee may be paid by check or money order, made payable to DIFP – Insurance.
Submit the NAIC Uniform Application for Individual Insurance Producer License in one of two ways:
RENEW A LICENSE:
The Missouri Department of Insurance, Financial Institutions and Professional Registration encourages you to renew early and electronically, which can be completed quicker than a traditional paper application. You may renew your license beginning 60 days before it expires.